Archive for 2017

Miami Symphony opens season with festive program and two concerto premieres

The Miami Symphony Orchestra opened its season Sunday with a characteristically …

Read More

Mon Oct 16, 2017
at 10:31 am
1 Comment

New World Symphony opens 30th season with a Russian banquet

The New World Symphony opened its 30th anniversary season Saturday night …

Read More

Sun Oct 15, 2017
at 12:05 pm
No Comments

Frost Opera Theater serves up bite-sized dramas in varied feast

From the epic saga of Wagner’s Ring cycle to concise one-act …

Read More

Thu Oct 12, 2017
at 1:55 pm
No Comments

Three alumni open New World chamber series with user-friendly program

Contemporary classical music has long shed the forbidding reputation of a …

Read More

Mon Oct 09, 2017
at 11:04 am
No Comments

Sleeper, Frost Symphony bring character, intensity to 20th-century program

The history of symphonic music abounds with works that were once …

Read More

Sat Oct 07, 2017
at 1:27 pm
No Comments

Musicians provide strong advocacy for George Walker’s music

Concerts devoted to the works of a single American composer are …

Read More

Sat Sep 30, 2017
at 12:37 pm
No Comments

Kievman’s opera “Tesla” gets a high-voltage premiere

Miami-based composer Carson Kievman has created a series of music theater …

Read More

Fri Sep 29, 2017
at 3:37 pm
2 Comments

October 19

Seraphic Fire
Patrick Dupre Quigley, conductor
Baker: In Columna (world premiere)…

Read More

Tue Sep 19, 2017
at 12:51 pm
No Comments

Seraphic Fire to partner with Aspen Festival in choral training program

Seraphic Fire is reviving its choral training program in partnership with …

Read More

Mon Sep 11, 2017
at 12:14 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice for the 2017-18 season

Carson Kievman’s Tesla. September 28- October 1 at the Colony Theater, …

Read More

Thu Aug 24, 2017
at 12:15 pm
No Comments

September 24

New World Symphony
Kazem Abdullah, conductor
Pre-season concert
Puts: Network
Mozart: …

Read More

Wed Aug 23, 2017
at 12:31 pm
No Comments

Watch this space

September listings coming soon…

Read More

Fri Aug 18, 2017
at 11:32 am
No Comments

Plans on tap to honor Judy Drucker, relaunch her classical series

A revival of Judy Drucker’s Miami classical series? Can the Concert …

Read More

Wed Aug 16, 2017
at 12:30 pm
No Comments

Two superb singers lift MLO’s rough-edged “Barber”

Technical and artistic gremlins plagued Miami Lyric Opera’s opening night performance …

Read More

Sun Aug 06, 2017
at 2:43 pm
1 Comment

Piano Fest Academy’s overlong finale proves less than grand

The three-week Miami International Piano Festival Academy program closed with its …

Read More

Mon Jul 31, 2017
at 10:50 am
2 Comments

Miami Music Festival delivers a riveting “Dead Man Walking” in South Florida premiere

The Miami Music Festival, which just gave South Florida a rare …

Read More

Fri Jul 28, 2017
at 12:13 pm
1 Comment

Miami Music Festival serves up first-class Wagner singing

For the second summer in a row the Miami Music Festival …

Read More

Mon Jul 24, 2017
at 10:56 am
No Comments

De Solaun brings refined romanticism to Miami Piano Fest Academy

Surrounded by artwork at Nova Southeastern University’s Adolfo and Marisela Cotilla …

Read More

Sat Jul 22, 2017
at 1:01 pm
No Comments

Effron, orchestra deliver compelling Mahler at Miami Music Festival

In a recent provocative essay, British music critic Michael Tanner suggested …

Read More

Sun Jul 16, 2017
at 1:10 pm
No Comments

Seraphic Fire partners with UCLA in new project to train student singers

Seraphic Fire is joining forces with UCLA in a new initiative …

Read More

Thu Jul 06, 2017
at 1:33 pm
No Comments