Archive for 2017

Yo-Yo Ma returns as Strauss’s knight errant with MTT, New World Symphony

Miami has experienced enough hurricanes that a mere tropical storm wasn’t …

Read More

Sun Oct 29, 2017
at 12:15 pm
No Comments

Galways bring musical charm to Frost Symphony’s Arsht program

The Frost Symphony Orchestra conducted by Thomas Sleeper presented an evening …

Read More

Sat Oct 28, 2017
at 1:34 pm
No Comments

Genres merge and Emily King shines in stellar Nu Deco Ensemble opener

The Nu Deco Ensemble attracts the youngest, liveliest and most engaged …

Read More

Fri Oct 27, 2017
at 4:28 pm
No Comments

New World Symphony captures the flavor of Miami in vibrant, multi-media “Movements”

Long on the cutting edge of multi-media presentation, the New World …

Read More

Sun Oct 22, 2017
at 3:08 pm
No Comments

November 30

Florida Grand Opera
Donizetti: Lucia di Lammermoor
Anna Christy, Joshua Guerrero, …

Read More

Fri Oct 20, 2017
at 3:59 pm
No Comments

Seraphic Fire opens 16th season with rare and remarkable Monteverdi

The music of Claudio Monteverdi bridged the Renaissance and Baroque eras. …

Read More

Thu Oct 19, 2017
at 2:25 pm
No Comments

Miami Symphony opens season with festive program and two concerto premieres

The Miami Symphony Orchestra opened its season Sunday with a characteristically …

Read More

Mon Oct 16, 2017
at 10:31 am
1 Comment

New World Symphony opens 30th season with a Russian banquet

The New World Symphony opened its 30th anniversary season Saturday night …

Read More

Sun Oct 15, 2017
at 12:05 pm
No Comments

Frost Opera Theater serves up bite-sized dramas in varied feast

From the epic saga of Wagner’s Ring cycle to concise one-act …

Read More

Thu Oct 12, 2017
at 1:55 pm
No Comments

Three alumni open New World chamber series with user-friendly program

Contemporary classical music has long shed the forbidding reputation of a …

Read More

Mon Oct 09, 2017
at 11:04 am
No Comments

Sleeper, Frost Symphony bring character, intensity to 20th-century program

The history of symphonic music abounds with works that were once …

Read More

Sat Oct 07, 2017
at 1:27 pm
No Comments

Musicians provide strong advocacy for George Walker’s music

Concerts devoted to the works of a single American composer are …

Read More

Sat Sep 30, 2017
at 12:37 pm
1 Comment

Kievman’s opera “Tesla” gets a high-voltage premiere

Miami-based composer Carson Kievman has created a series of music theater …

Read More

Fri Sep 29, 2017
at 3:37 pm
3 Comments

October 20

Seraphic Fire
Patrick Dupre Quigley, conductor
Baker: In Columna (world premiere)…

Read More

Tue Sep 19, 2017
at 12:51 pm
No Comments

Seraphic Fire to partner with Aspen Festival in choral training program

Seraphic Fire is reviving its choral training program in partnership with …

Read More

Mon Sep 11, 2017
at 12:14 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice for the 2017-18 season

Carson Kievman’s Tesla. September 28- October 1 at the Colony Theater, …

Read More

Thu Aug 24, 2017
at 12:15 pm
No Comments

September 24

New World Symphony
Kazem Abdullah, conductor
Pre-season concert
Puts: Network
Mozart: …

Read More

Wed Aug 23, 2017
at 12:31 pm
No Comments

Watch this space

September listings coming soon…

Read More

Fri Aug 18, 2017
at 11:32 am
No Comments

Plans on tap to honor Judy Drucker, relaunch her classical series

A revival of Judy Drucker’s Miami classical series? Can the Concert …

Read More

Wed Aug 16, 2017
at 12:30 pm
No Comments

Two superb singers lift MLO’s rough-edged “Barber”

Technical and artistic gremlins plagued Miami Lyric Opera’s opening night performance …

Read More

Sun Aug 06, 2017
at 2:43 pm
1 Comment