opera review

Sumptuous “Traviata” kicks off season with Verdian drama and radiant vocalism

Florida Grand Opera opened its 68th season Saturday at the Ziff …

Read More

Sun Nov 16, 2008
at 1:40 pm
9 Comments

"Bonesetter" cuts to the marrow of Chinese experience

SAN FRANCISCO: The course of opera history is nearly biblical in…

Read More

Sun Sep 28, 2008
at 9:32 pm
No Comments

Realpolitik circa 14th-century Genoa

SAN FRANCISCO: Of Verdi’s greatest works, Simon Boccanegra remains the least…

Read More

Thu Sep 25, 2008
at 7:26 pm
No Comments

Korngold’s haunting opera revived in style

SAN FRANCISCO—”The guy needs a psychiatrist,” said one woman in the…

Read More

Wed Sep 24, 2008
at 7:48 pm
No Comments

Miami Lyric Opera closes season in style

Vocal programs of isolated opera arias are often the musical equivalent …

Read More

Sun Aug 24, 2008
at 9:13 pm
No Comments

Violence without, family secrets within—and endless debate about both

SANTA FE: The milieu of Kaija Saariaho’s Adriana Mater is at …

Read More

Sun Aug 10, 2008
at 9:12 pm
No Comments

Bizarro Handel plot mended by stylish staging, glorious singing

SANTA FE: Even by the bewildering standard of Handel’s opera narratives, …

Read More

Sat Aug 09, 2008
at 3:33 pm
1 Comment

Good vs. evil on the high seas, set to music by Britten

SANTA FE. While Peter Grimes was an instant success, Benjamin Britten’s …

Read More

Thu Aug 07, 2008
at 8:30 am
1 Comment

Memorable Mozart singing let down by subpar conducting

SANTA FE. Mozart’s Le nozze di Figaro is operatic titanium, an …

Read More

Wed Aug 06, 2008
at 9:41 pm
No Comments

A fat, drunken English knight in the New Mexico desert

SANTA FE. You drive the 58 dusty miles from Albuquerque to …

Read More

Tue Aug 05, 2008
at 10:19 pm
No Comments

Miami Lyric’s "Butterfly" takes a late flight

By now Miami Lyric Opera regulars know what to expect. As …

Read More

Sun Jul 27, 2008
at 5:04 am
1 Comment