Uncategorized

Critic’s Choice

A 21st-century opera comes to South Florida Saturday night when Florida …

Read More

Thu Mar 16, 2017
at 12:35 pm
No Comments

Weak soloist apart, the Royal Scottish Orchestra gives a fine account of themselves at the Broward Center

 Not many visiting orchestras arrive in South Florida with an endorsement …

Read More

Tue Mar 14, 2017
at 11:16 am
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

The University of Miami’s enterprising Frost Opera Theater continues its series …

Read More

Wed Mar 01, 2017
at 2:00 pm
No Comments

March 19

Florida Grand Opera
Martin: Before Night Falls
Elliot Madore, Dinyar Vania, …

Read More

Thu Feb 23, 2017
at 5:13 pm
No Comments

New World members take the spotlight in concerto program

Every year members of the New World Symphony compete for the …

Read More

Sun Feb 19, 2017
at 12:38 pm
No Comments

Quigley, Seraphic Fire at their finest in Bach’s motets

The six motets of Johann Sebastian Bach represent the Baroque master …

Read More

Sat Feb 18, 2017
at 12:42 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

Many South Florida listeners may not know that a classic of …

Read More

Wed Feb 08, 2017
at 10:32 am
No Comments

Critic’s Choice


The Ehnes Quartet has given some of the most musically probing …

Read More

Wed Feb 01, 2017
at 9:57 am
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

The Cleveland Orchestra‘s concerts this week are devoted to Bruckner and …

Read More

Wed Jan 25, 2017
at 8:30 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

Most classical performances in South Florida focus on music of the …

Read More

Thu Jan 12, 2017
at 12:42 pm
No Comments

Colin Currie provides the highlight in New World’s program of contemporary German music

The New World Symphony’s first “Sounds of the Times” concert of …

Read More

Sun Dec 04, 2016
at 2:54 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

Michael Tilson Thomas‘s revelatory performances of the symphonies of Gustav Mahler …

Read More

Tue Apr 19, 2016
at 4:00 pm
No Comments

Quigley leads New World in musical mashup from Monteverdi to Reich

A major score by a pioneering minimalist composer brought the New …

Read More

Sun Apr 17, 2016
at 11:48 pm
2 Comments

Critic’s Choice

The two South Florida classical ensembles with the highest national stature …

Read More

Tue Apr 12, 2016
at 11:52 am
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

Susanna Mälkki has received enthusiastic reviews and acclaim for her appearances …

Read More

Wed Apr 06, 2016
at 1:08 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

The biggest opera event of the season takes place Saturday night …

Read More

Wed Mar 30, 2016
at 1:29 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

The New World Symphony’s Sounds of the Times series turns to …

Read More

Tue Mar 22, 2016
at 9:49 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

Seraphic Fire’s program “A Single Rose: Modernism in the Americas” takes …

Read More

Wed Mar 09, 2016
at 12:51 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

After a rocky decade that included conductor upheavals, bankruptcy filing and …

Read More

Wed Feb 24, 2016
at 10:08 am
No Comments

Duo Turgeon brings fluent flair to Latin program

Anne Louise and Edward Turgeon, gold medal winners of the 1997 …

Read More

Tue Feb 23, 2016
at 4:33 pm
No Comments