Articles

Frost Opera Theater to flash back to the 1960s with Daugherty’s “Jackie O”

Contemporary operas tend to have a short performance life. A world …

Read More

Tue Apr 08, 2014
at 12:08 pm
No Comments

Seraphic Fire and Spektral Quartet join forces for new take on Haydn’s “Seven Last Words”

Just in time for Easter, Seraphic Fire will introduce Franz Joseph …

Read More

Wed Apr 02, 2014
at 2:34 pm
No Comments

Young mezzo to showcase musical “Sins” in Coral Gables

For Wallis Giunta, a recital is more than just a recital.…

Read More

Mon Mar 24, 2014
at 3:26 pm
No Comments

Bruckner’s music not a political issue for Mehta, Israel Philharmonic

Anton Bruckner probably would not have relished his status as Hitler’s …

Read More

Wed Mar 19, 2014
at 2:14 pm
No Comments

Violinist Daniel Hope to pay tribute to his great predecessor Joachim

A violinist who builds a program around the legacy of the …

Read More

Thu Mar 13, 2014
at 11:57 pm
No Comments

FGO to take a trip to the dark side with Vores’ “No Exit”

A valet shows a man into an ordinary living room. Two …

Read More

Wed Feb 19, 2014
at 4:05 pm
No Comments

Gil Shaham looks forward to revisiting Korngold with Cleveland Orchestra

When violinist Gil Shaham performs with the Cleveland Orchestra at the …

Read More

Tue Jan 21, 2014
at 2:00 pm
No Comments

FGO to mark Verdi’s bicentennial with “Nabucco”

It’s almost impossible to imagine the world of opera without the …

Read More

Fri Jan 17, 2014
at 2:28 pm
No Comments

The Top 10 Performances of 2013

1. Michael Tilson Thomas and the New World Symphony: Mahler’s Symphony …

Read More

Wed Dec 18, 2013
at 3:05 pm
2 Comments

Patrick Quigley gears up for Seraphic Fire’s Christmas season after a year of milestones

Patrick Dupré Quigley hates to shave, but that’s not the only …

Read More

Tue Dec 10, 2013
at 3:34 pm
2 Comments

Deborah Voigt faces life challenges and career transition with spirit and grace

On November 15, opera superstar Deborah Voigt will do something she’s …

Read More

Tue Nov 05, 2013
at 12:01 pm
1 Comment

FGO to open season with Levy’s great, neglected American tragedy

Maybe the third time will actually be the charm.

To celebrate …

Read More

Wed Oct 30, 2013
at 1:45 pm
3 Comments

Miami Symphony Orchestra marks 25 years with greatly improved playing, continuing financial struggle

The Miami Symphony Orchestra was headed for Carnegie Hall, and many …

Read More

Tue Oct 15, 2013
at 3:11 pm
11 Comments

Yuja Wang is back to open the New World Symphony season with Gershwin

By any measure, Yuja Wang is at the top of the …

Read More

Mon Sep 30, 2013
at 3:58 pm
1 Comment

Bassist Edgar Meyer to “Double” up with Joshua Bell at Festival Miami

For the double bass virtuoso Edgar Meyer, the challenges begin with …

Read More

Wed Sep 25, 2013
at 6:50 pm
No Comments

A season of change, variety and starry soloists in South Florida

A new leader is putting her stamp on Florida Grand Opera. …

Read More

Mon Sep 09, 2013
at 10:32 pm
4 Comments

Rising cellist Joshua Roman blends refined artistry with internet savvy

Cellist Joshua Roman could be the prototype for the 21st-century classical …

Read More

Sun Aug 25, 2013
at 11:24 am
No Comments

Radio’s Bill McGlaughlin delights in making waves for classical music

In an episode of his radio show, Exploring Music with Bill …

Read More

Wed Jul 17, 2013
at 2:23 pm
No Comments

With vibrant singing and rough edges, Miami Lyric Opera to mark its 10th anniversary with Puccini

Imagine an opera company that functions with the cold precision of …

Read More

Tue Jul 02, 2013
at 11:35 am
No Comments

20-year-old Russian to open Miami Piano Festival

The Miami International Piano Festival’s Discovery Series, running May 16–19 at …

Read More

Thu May 09, 2013
at 5:00 pm
No Comments