Articles

Tropical Baroque Music Festival to serve up a wide range of repertoire

To the leaders of the Tropical Baroque Music Festival, the strengths …

Read More

Thu Feb 26, 2015
at 5:53 pm
No Comments

Welser-Möst set to explore Beethoven-Shostakovich nexus with Cleveland Orchestra

Hiking in the Himalayan Mountains, where others might contemplate icy vistas …

Read More

Thu Feb 19, 2015
at 6:21 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

The first world premiere in the history of Palm Beach Opera …

Read More

Tue Feb 17, 2015
at 12:58 pm
No Comments

Composer Michael Gordon to celebrate Miami Beach with New World Symphony premiere 

Michael Gordon is still bombarded with visual memories of his Miami …

Read More

Thu Jan 22, 2015
at 2:16 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

The violin concertos of Karol Szymanowski almost never appear on South …

Read More

Wed Jan 21, 2015
at 11:30 am
No Comments

Top Ten Performances of 2014

1. Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio for Friends of Chamber Music

The venerable trio …

Read More

Wed Dec 24, 2014
at 12:11 am
No Comments

In a crucial season, Florida Grand Opera hopes to get its finances back on track

In 2006 Florida Grand Opera moved from the drab, mildewed Miami-Dade …

Read More

Tue Nov 11, 2014
at 1:28 pm
7 Comments

Broward Center hopes Bell will ring in new era for classical series

A sold-out crowd jammed the Broward Center for the Performing Arts …

Read More

Tue Oct 28, 2014
at 6:05 pm
3 Comments

Festival Miami to lead off with music made in America

The American composer Paul Creston showed fine penmanship in writing down …

Read More

Wed Oct 01, 2014
at 6:04 pm
No Comments

A rich season of orchestras, Mahler and Shostakovich is on tap for 2014-15

This season will bring to South Florida plenty of Shostakovich and …

Read More

Mon Sep 15, 2014
at 12:02 pm
No Comments

American Music Project to launch with world premiere in Chicago

UPDATED
[Read the New York Times article about the American Music …

Read More

Mon Aug 04, 2014
at 10:44 am
3 Comments

Charismatic mezzo Isabel Leonard to star in final event for Sunday Afternoons of Music

Isabel Leonard is a glamorous young opera star, svelte and vivacious, …

Read More

Tue May 13, 2014
at 12:12 pm
No Comments

His Tourette’s controlled, Nick van Bloss to make U.S. debut at Miami Piano Festival

When the British pianist Nick van Bloss walks on stage next …

Read More

Sat May 10, 2014
at 6:55 pm
No Comments

FGO readies a sex-and-sand season finale with Massenet’s “Thaïs”

Contrasts play an important role in many of Jules Massenet’s operas, …

Read More

Thu Apr 24, 2014
at 2:38 pm
No Comments

Frost Opera Theater to flash back to the 1960s with Daugherty’s “Jackie O”

Contemporary operas tend to have a short performance life. A world …

Read More

Tue Apr 08, 2014
at 12:08 pm
No Comments

Seraphic Fire and Spektral Quartet join forces for new take on Haydn’s “Seven Last Words”

Just in time for Easter, Seraphic Fire will introduce Franz Joseph …

Read More

Wed Apr 02, 2014
at 2:34 pm
No Comments

Young mezzo to showcase musical “Sins” in Coral Gables

For Wallis Giunta, a recital is more than just a recital.…

Read More

Mon Mar 24, 2014
at 3:26 pm
No Comments

Bruckner’s music not a political issue for Mehta, Israel Philharmonic

Anton Bruckner probably would not have relished his status as Hitler’s …

Read More

Wed Mar 19, 2014
at 2:14 pm
No Comments

Violinist Daniel Hope to pay tribute to his great predecessor Joachim

A violinist who builds a program around the legacy of the …

Read More

Thu Mar 13, 2014
at 11:57 pm
No Comments

FGO to take a trip to the dark side with Vores’ “No Exit”

A valet shows a man into an ordinary living room. Two …

Read More

Wed Feb 19, 2014
at 4:05 pm
No Comments