News

Arsht and Broward Centers scale back classical series for 2015-16


Both the Arsht Center in Miami and the Broward Center in …

Read More

Wed Apr 22, 2015
at 2:42 pm
No Comments

Vienna Philharmonic to establish residency in Naples

Move over, Cleveland Orchestra.

The Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, one of the …

Read More

Tue Apr 07, 2015
at 2:09 pm
No Comments

New World Symphony to offer exciting mix of new and familiar in 2015-16

The New World Symphony will offer a bracing mix of envelope-pushing …

Read More

Fri Apr 03, 2015
at 4:42 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

A new classical ensemble specializing in contemporary music makes its debut …

Read More

Wed Apr 01, 2015
at 12:22 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

After playing dark and intense symphonies by Shostakovich and Mahler at …

Read More

Wed Mar 25, 2015
at 5:24 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

Piotr Anderszewski was one of the brightest lights in the early …

Read More

Wed Mar 11, 2015
at 4:00 pm
No Comments

Fleming to mark Cleveland Orchestra’s decade in Miami

Renée Fleming will be the starry guest artist marking the tenth …

Read More

Sat Mar 07, 2015
at 11:59 pm
No Comments

Palm Beach Opera hires a chief conductor

Palm Beach Opera has appointed David Stern as chief conductor, effective …

Read More

Sat Mar 07, 2015
at 2:51 pm
1 Comment

Fiddles aplenty in Kravis Center’s 2015-16 season

The Regional Arts Concert Series at the Kravis Center in West …

Read More

Wed Mar 04, 2015
at 10:07 am
No Comments

17-year-old wins Chopin Competition

Eric Lu, a 17-year-old student of Jonathan Biss and Robert McDonald …

Read More

Mon Mar 02, 2015
at 11:17 am
6 Comments

Seraphic Fire to spread to New York, D.C. and Philly in 2015-16 season

Seraphic Fire is about to hit the road in a big …

Read More

Thu Feb 26, 2015
at 2:28 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

In a busy music weekend that includes the Cleveland Orchestra’s “Fate …

Read More

Wed Feb 25, 2015
at 6:20 pm
No Comments

Polish composer’s appeal remains timeless for young artists in Chopin Competition 

While many young teens salivate over fresh-faced pop singers, pianist Rieko …

Read More

Tue Feb 17, 2015
at 3:29 pm
1 Comment

Marvin David Levy 1932-2015

Marvin David Levy, the American composer who shot to fame at …

Read More

Mon Feb 09, 2015
at 4:41 pm
1 Comment

FGO to present Holocaust drama in 2015-16 amid populist Italian repertory

Florida Grand Opera’s 2015-16 season will offer its first performances of …

Read More

Fri Jan 30, 2015
at 3:42 pm
3 Comments

Critic’s Choice

For the past three seasons the New World Symphony’s “New Works” …

Read More

Wed Jan 28, 2015
at 12:49 pm
No Comments

Opera at Broward Center may get a last-minute reprieve

An anonymous benefactor has stepped forward with a no-limit matching grant …

Read More

Sun Jan 18, 2015
at 10:54 am
No Comments

Curtain may fall on FGO performances at the Broward Center next season

Florida Grand Opera is considering exiting from the Broward Center for the …

Read More

Tue Jan 06, 2015
at 2:34 pm
1 Comment

Geoffrey Gordon is second composer commissioned by the American Music Project

A Clarinet Quintet by Geoffrey Gordon is the second work commissioned …

Read More

Tue Dec 16, 2014
at 2:52 pm
No Comments

The mom speaks out: though she felt “humiliated” by MTT’s action, she holds no grudge against New World Symphony

The Miami Beach mom has come forward.

Michael Tilson Thomas created …

Read More

Mon Oct 27, 2014
at 2:52 pm
5 Comments