News

Kravis Center to offer a feast of orchestras in 2016-17 season

The 2016-2017 season of the Kravis Center in West Palm Beach …

Read More

Mon Jan 25, 2016
at 10:59 pm
No Comments

Orpheus Chamber Orchestra concert cancelled

Tonight’s scheduled performance by the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra at the Kravis …

Read More

Mon Jan 25, 2016
at 10:56 am
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

More than 25 years have passed since Florida Grand Opera audiences …

Read More

Tue Jan 19, 2016
at 12:43 pm
1 Comment

Fort Lauderdale soprano makes successful Met debut

Nadine Sierra made a successful debut at the Metropolitan Opera Wednesday night …

Read More

Fri Dec 04, 2015
at 11:38 am
No Comments

Classical South Florida board member charges threats by APM, asks attorney general to investigate; WLRN offers an online alternative

Richard Rampell, a former board member of Classical South Florida, has …

Read More

Sun Aug 02, 2015
at 12:45 pm
7 Comments

Friends of Chamber Music to mark 60 years with Beethoven and Borodin

In its 60th anniversary season, Friends of Chamber Music of Miami …

Read More

Mon Jul 27, 2015
at 2:40 pm
No Comments

South Florida to lose sole classical radio outlet

South Florida will soon be without a classical radio station. Once …

Read More

Sat Jul 11, 2015
at 2:53 pm
96 Comments

Classical events fade in shorter and lighter Festival Miami

Festival Miami, the University of Miami Frost School of Music’s annual …

Read More

Fri Jun 26, 2015
at 2:06 pm
No Comments

Cleveland Orchestra’s Miami performances released in new partnership with Google

Franz Welser-Möst and the Cleveland Orchestra have entered into a partnership …

Read More

Tue Jun 16, 2015
at 10:50 am
No Comments

Florida Grand Opera closes season in the black for first time in five years

In an unexpected and positive announcement after a financially challenging season, …

Read More

Fri May 29, 2015
at 1:31 pm
1 Comment

Miami Summer Music Festival plans ambitious lineup of classes and performances

The Miami Summer Music Festival will bring 200 college and professional …

Read More

Thu Apr 30, 2015
at 8:34 pm
2 Comments

New World Symphony out of its Cage with new online archive

The New World Symphony, which is performing at Carnegie Hall tonight, …

Read More

Tue Apr 28, 2015
at 9:04 pm
No Comments

Guerrero out of Cleveland Orchestra Miami post in 2016

The Cleveland Orchestra has announced that Giancarlo Guerrero’s contract as principal …

Read More

Mon Apr 27, 2015
at 9:04 am
No Comments

Arsht and Broward Centers scale back classical series for 2015-16


Both the Arsht Center in Miami and the Broward Center in …

Read More

Wed Apr 22, 2015
at 2:42 pm
1 Comment

Vienna Philharmonic to establish residency in Naples

Move over, Cleveland Orchestra.

The Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, one of the …

Read More

Tue Apr 07, 2015
at 2:09 pm
No Comments

New World Symphony to offer exciting mix of new and familiar in 2015-16

The New World Symphony will offer a bracing mix of envelope-pushing …

Read More

Fri Apr 03, 2015
at 4:42 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

A new classical ensemble specializing in contemporary music makes its debut …

Read More

Wed Apr 01, 2015
at 12:22 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

After playing dark and intense symphonies by Shostakovich and Mahler at …

Read More

Wed Mar 25, 2015
at 5:24 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

Piotr Anderszewski was one of the brightest lights in the early …

Read More

Wed Mar 11, 2015
at 4:00 pm
No Comments

Fleming to mark Cleveland Orchestra’s decade in Miami

Renée Fleming will be the starry guest artist marking the tenth …

Read More

Sat Mar 07, 2015
at 11:59 pm
No Comments