News

Seraphic Fire’s 2014-15 season to span from chant to Mahler

The biggest news of Seraphic Fire’s 2014-15 is the Miami choir’s …

Read More

Mon Apr 14, 2014
at 10:08 am
No Comments

Broward Center offers crossover lineup for 2014-15 classical series

The Broward Center will present a more crossover lineup in its …

Read More

Tue Apr 08, 2014
at 11:14 am
No Comments

Menotti’s “Consul,” Puccini and Mozart favorites on tap in FGO’s 2014-15 season

Florida Grand Opera will serve up Mozart and Puccini favorites in …

Read More

Tue Mar 25, 2014
at 3:28 pm
4 Comments

New tenor for PB Opera “Hoffmann” & new conductor for NWS date

Palm Beach Opera has a new tenor for this weekend’s performances …

Read More

Fri Mar 21, 2014
at 4:42 pm
1 Comment

Arsht Center announces an all-orchestral 2014-15 season

The Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts has released its …

Read More

Wed Mar 12, 2014
at 11:22 am
No Comments

Frost School to partner with Universal Classics

Elizabeth Sobol, president and CEO of Universal Music Classics and Shelly …

Read More

Thu Feb 27, 2014
at 5:21 pm
No Comments

For Olga Kern, playing Rachmaninoff always stirs memories of Van Cliburn

Olga Kern is living proof that being a musical “specialist” isn’t …

Read More

Mon Feb 24, 2014
at 1:03 pm
No Comments

Sunday Afternoons of Music to close after 33 years

After this season, Doreen Marx and Byron Krulewitch will ring down …

Read More

Wed Feb 12, 2014
at 7:49 pm
1 Comment

New World Symphony’s starry 2014-15 season to feature Mutter, Hampson, Bronfman and a return to Carnegie Hall

Celebrated violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter will make her first South Florida appearance …

Read More

Sun Feb 09, 2014
at 3:14 pm
No Comments

Cellist Haimovitz a late addition to New World concert

This weekend’s New World Symphony concert just got an extra bit …

Read More

Wed Jan 15, 2014
at 1:21 pm
No Comments

Seraphic Fire receives Knight award for South Miami residency

Seraphic Fire has received a grant from the Knight Foundation that …

Read More

Tue Dec 03, 2013
at 12:06 pm
No Comments

MTT throws out the first lozenge at Chicago Symphony concert

Michael Tilson Thomas found a novel way to deal with bronchial …

Read More

Mon Nov 25, 2013
at 4:32 pm
2 Comments

Pianist Kuerti stricken while performing in Coral Gables

UPDATED

A highly anticipated Friends of Chamber Music concert by acclaimed …

Read More

Thu Oct 17, 2013
at 11:17 pm
8 Comments

Nadine Sierra shares top prize at Neue Stimmen Competition

Fort Lauderdale native Nadine Sierra shared First Prize at the prestigious …

Read More

Mon Oct 14, 2013
at 4:06 pm
No Comments

FGO books a late-night trip to hell with Andy Vores’ “No Exit”

Florida Grand Opera will further burnish its growing reputation as a …

Read More

Thu Aug 29, 2013
at 11:12 am
No Comments

SFCR Facebook page is live

In the five years since South Florida Classical Review began, we’ve …

Read More

Wed Aug 14, 2013
at 12:18 pm
No Comments

Broward Center downsizes for 2013-14 classical season

The Broward Center for the Performing Arts has announced its 2013-14 …

Read More

Tue Aug 13, 2013
at 3:13 pm
2 Comments

Chopin Competition kicks top prize up to $75,000 for 2015

The National Chopin Foundation will raise their top prize to $75,000 …

Read More

Fri Aug 09, 2013
at 2:12 pm
1 Comment

New York Classical Review to launch in September

I am very happy to announce that we will mark our …

Read More

Mon Jul 29, 2013
at 12:37 am
No Comments

FGO to open season with Voigt tribute

Florida Grand Opera will open its 2013-14 season with a glitzy …

Read More

Tue Jul 23, 2013
at 11:21 am
2 Comments