News

Lang Lang, Joshua Bell featured in Broward Center’s 2017-8 season

The Broward Center will offer a nicely varied Classical Series in …

Read More

Thu Jun 01, 2017
at 12:47 pm
No Comments

Fort Lauderdale native Nadine Sierra wins prestigious Richard Tucker Award

Soprano Nadine Sierra, a Fort Lauderdale native, is the winner of …

Read More

Tue Apr 18, 2017
at 10:10 am
No Comments

From Adams to Xenakis, New World Symphony lays out a varied feast for 2017-18 season

The New World Symphony’s 2017-2018 season will open on October 14-15 …

Read More

Thu Apr 06, 2017
at 2:58 pm
1 Comment

Arsht Center to offer lightweight classical season in 2017-18

The Arsht Center’s 2017-2018 classical series might be more correctly designated …

Read More

Fri Mar 31, 2017
at 5:43 pm
No Comments

Cleveland Orchestra slashes 2018 Arsht residency with no explanation to Miami

Despite previous denials that it was planning to shut down its …

Read More

Fri Mar 24, 2017
at 11:20 am
9 Comments

Critic’s Choice

The Finnish conductor Osmo Vänskä always brings excitement and unpredictability to …

Read More

Tue Mar 07, 2017
at 3:37 pm
No Comments

Seraphic Fire’s adventurous 2017-18 season to span from Bach to Pärt

Seraphic Fire will present an array of old and new music …

Read More

Fri Mar 03, 2017
at 11:07 am
No Comments

FGO to offer a varied and venturesome 2017-18 season

Florida Grand Opera will span the centuries in its 2017-18 season, …

Read More

Tue Feb 28, 2017
at 4:48 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

The great American conductor Leonard Slatkin brought the Saint Louis Symphony …

Read More

Thu Feb 23, 2017
at 2:00 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

The venerable Borodin Quartet returns to the Friends of Chamber Music …

Read More

Thu Feb 16, 2017
at 12:19 pm
No Comments

Editor’s Note on Miami Herald dropping classical coverage

As regular South Florida Classical Review readers know, since this website …

Read More

Thu Jan 05, 2017
at 3:35 pm
8 Comments

New Carmen on tap for final FGO performances

A new Carmen is in town.

Daniela Mack will take over …

Read More

Wed Nov 30, 2016
at 1:33 pm
No Comments

Cuban early-music group to make Miami debut

The Miami Bach Society will present Ars Longa, a vocal and …

Read More

Fri Oct 21, 2016
at 9:00 pm
1 Comment

FGO receives largest gift in its history with donation of $6.8 million building

A major donation by an anonymous donor has given Florida Grand …

Read More

Wed Oct 19, 2016
at 2:55 pm
No Comments

FGO announces casting details for 2016-17 season

Florida Grand Opera has announced the casts for the four productions …

Read More

Sun Sep 11, 2016
at 5:39 am
No Comments

Classical Review to expand to Texas and Washington D.C. this fall

I am happy to announce that the Classical Review will be …

Read More

Tue Aug 16, 2016
at 1:38 pm
No Comments

Voigt pulls out; FGO swaps Verdi’s “Ballo” for “Sweeney Todd”

Scratch Voigt, add Verdi.

Soprano Deborah Voigt has cancelled her performances …

Read More

Wed Jun 15, 2016
at 3:01 pm
No Comments

Broward Center to expand classical series in 2016-17 season

Despite continuing difficulties with ticket sales in its Classical Series, the …

Read More

Tue May 03, 2016
at 2:12 pm
No Comments

Critic’s Choice

The Master Chorale of South Florida this week will perform Haydn’s …

Read More

Mon Apr 25, 2016
at 5:23 pm
No Comments

New World Symphony leans toward populist repertory in 2016-17 season

The New World Symphony hews toward a conservative lineup in the …

Read More

Thu Mar 17, 2016
at 6:16 pm
No Comments