Arsht classical series to have Russian flavor

By David Fleshler

The Arsht Center for the Performing Arts has announced a five-program classical series for next season that will have a strong Russian flavor.

The Moscow State Symphony Orchestra will open the Sanford and Delores Ziff Classical Music Series Nov. 15, with no program yet announced. Following that will be the violinist Joshua Bell on Jan. 18, the Chamber Orchestra Kremlin Feb. 2, the Deutsch Staatsphilharmonie Feb. 9 and a joint concert by the Russian violist Yuri Bashmet and the Russian pianist Evgeny Kissin April 21.

Only for the Bashmet-Kissin concert has any portion of the program been announced. It will include  Schubert’s Sonata in A Minor, D. 821, known as the Arepeggione, and Shostakovich’s Viola Sonata.

Subscription sales begin today, with prices ranging from $227.50 to $625. Call 305-949-6722 or go to

Posted in News

Leave a Comment

Mon May 17, 2010
at 11:49 am
No Comments