Arsht Center announces an all-orchestral 2014-15 season

By Lawrence A. Johnson

Valery Gergiev and the Mariinsky Orchestra will perform a Russian program at the Arsht Center in February 2015.

Valery Gergiev and the Mariinsky Orchestra will perform a Russian program at the Arsht Center in February 2015.

The Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts has released its schedules for both the Classical Series and the Cleveland Orchestra’s 2014-15 programs at the downtown Miami center.

The Arsht Center has apparently decided that solo recitals are not enough of a draw in Miami, and none are included on next season’s roster. Five orchestras will come to Miami in the 2014-15 season, counting a Cleveland Orchestra performance added to the Arsht series.

Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony will open the Ziff Classical Music Series on November 22. Gil Shaham will perform Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 2 on a program with works by Liszt, Ravel and Samuel Carl Adams.

Valery Gergiev and his Mariinsky Orchestra come to Miami on February 6, 2015, with a program that includes Shchedrin’s Naughty Limericks, Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition and Tchaikovsky’s rarely heard Piano Concerto No. 2 with Denis Matsuev as soloist.

The Danish National Symphony Orchestra will offer a program that departs from populist crowd-pleasers on February 14 when Rafael Fruhbeck de Burgos leads the ensemble in Carl Nielsen’s Symphony No. 4 “The Inextinguishable.” The rest of the program will be devoted to Sibelius, including Kuolema, Valse Triste and the Violin Concerto with Ray Chen as soloist.

On March 26 the Cleveland Orchestra will present Carl Orff’s quasi-medieval extravaganza Carmina Burana led by Giancarlo Guerrero. The program will also include Leonard Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms. Soloists are baritone Stephen Powell, countertenor Anthony Roth Costanzo and fast-rising Fort Lauderdale native, soprano Nadine Sierra.

Conductor Keith Lockhart and the BBC Orchestra will close the Arsht series on April 15. The program will include the Wasps Overture by Vaughan Williams, George Butterworth’s A Shropshire Lad, Dvorak’s Symphony No. 5 and Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 2 with Charlie Albright as soloist.

Season ticket prices for the five-concert Ziff Classical Series range from $182 – $530 and can be purchased or renewed beginning March 16. Go to, call 305- 949-6722 or stop by the Arsht Center box office.


The Cleveland Orchestra will again present four weeks of music at the Arsht Center in the 2014-15 season.

Giancarlo Guerrero will open the season November 14-15 with a pops-style serving of symphonic showpieces including Tchaikovsky’s Capriccio italien, Respighi’s Fountains of Rome and Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio espagnol. Guitarist Miloš Karadagić will break up the brilliance with Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez.

Franz Welser-Möst will lead three programs in a series titled “Fate and Freedom,” spotlighting music of Beethoven, Shostakovich and Mahler.

February will offer performances of two separate programs in one weekend for the first time in the Cleveland Orchestra residency. Welser-Möst conducts Beethoven’s “Eroica” symphony (No. 3) and Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 6 on February 27. On February 28, the program will be Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 and Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 10.

On March 6 and 7, the Cleveland Orchestra program will be devoted to a single work, Mahler’s Symphony No. 6 with Welser-Möst conducting.

Giancarlo Guerrero will wrap the season March 26-28 with the aforementioned Orff and Bernstein program. The March 26 performance is part of the Arsht Classical Series.

Subscriptions for the Cleveland Orchestra’s 2014-15 season are on sale now, and start at $135 for a four-concert package.  Single tickets will be available in September. Call 305-949-6722, or visit or

Posted in News

Leave a Comment

Wed Mar 12, 2014
at 11:22 am
No Comments