Critic’s Choice

By David Fleshler

Gustav Mahler

Gustav Mahler

A single work will be on the program of the Cleveland Orchestra’s concerts Friday and Saturday at the Arsht Center in Miami: Mahler’s Symphony No. 6.

Once known as the “Tragic,” this 80-minute work, with its spine-chilling ending, is heard less frequently than most of the composer’s other symphonies. But with its hard-driving marches, swirling drama, bits of folk music, long grave slow movement and vivid—at times scary—instrumental effects, it calls for a virtuoso orchestra to do it justice. And that’s what will be on stage at the Arsht Center, led by music director Franz Welser-Möst.

This will be the last chance to hear the Cleveland Orchestra in a strictly symphonic work.  The ensemble’s final concerts of the season, performed at the end of March, will feature vocal soloists and the Cleveland Orchestra Chorus in Orff’s Carmina Burana.; 305-949-6722.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Wed Mar 4, 2015
at 7:55 pm
No Comments