Critic’s Choice

By Lawrence Budmen

download (1)

The New World Symphony‘s intriguing chamber music concert on Sunday afternoon pays tribute to the League of Composers, an organization that has sponsored and supported contemporary music  for over seven decades. Aaron Copland was one of the group’s early leaders and his Dánzon cubano, in a new arrangement for percussion by Michael Linville, will conclude the program.

The concert opens with Benjamin Britten’s Cello Sonata, written in 1961 for Mstislav Rostropovich. Latin America is represented by a rare performance of the String Quartet No. 1 by Argentina’s Alberto Ginastera and Upingos for solo oboe by Mexico’s Carlos Chávez. Five Pieces for two violins and piano brings the lighter side of Dmitri Shostakovich, a suite of his waltzes and dance music in an arrangement by Lewon Atownjman. Violinist Daniel Ching, from the Mirór Quartet, is guest artist.

The New World Symphony presents The League of Composers program with violinist Daniel Ching 2 p.m. Sunday at the New World Center in Miami Beach. nws.edu305-673-3331.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Wed Feb 28, 2018
at 3:41 pm
No Comments