Critic’s Choice

By Lawrence Budmen

Erich Wolfgang Korngold

Erich Wolfgang Korngold

On Sunday afternoon the New World Symphony‘s typically adventurous chamber music series spotlights three “Aces of Austria.”

Written at age 18, Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s String Sextet is a sumptuous valentine from fin de siécle Vienna. Arnold Schoenberg’s Chamber Symphony No. 2 is the work of a transplanted Austrian in America during the 1930’s. Terse and neo-classical, the score was Schoenberg’s return to tonality after his groundbreaking atonal scores.

Tamás Varga, principal cellist of the Vienna Philharmonic, joins the New World fellows in the Korngold and Schoenberg works. The aristocratic classicism of Haydn’s Flute Trio No. 17 forms an interlude between the two large -cale offerings.

The New World Symphony chamber music series take place 2 p.m. Sunday at the New World Center in Miami Beach.; 305-673-3331.

Posted in News

Leave a Comment

Thu Mar 21, 2019
at 11:10 am
No Comments