Chopin Competition is down to 12 semi-finalists

By Lawrence Budmen

The National Chopin Competition, which takes place in Miami every five years, has announced twelve semi-finalists, narrowed down from an initial pool of twenty six pianists.

The participating pianists are Timothy Jones, Fantee Jones, Umi Garrett, Evren Ozel, Min Jo Yi, Dominic Muzzi, Alexander Agate, Chelsea Guo, Avery Gagliano, Parker Van Ostrand, Misha Galant and Talon Smith. Semi-final rounds will take place Wednesday and Thursday, in morning and afternoon sessions, at Miami-Dade County Auditorium.

The competition jury will select six finalists, who will then participate in the final concerto rounds Saturday evening and Sunday afternoon. The first prize is $100,000. The first, second and third prize winners will automatically be able to participate in the National Fryderick Chopin Competition in Warsaw.

All rounds, including the finals, are being live streamed at

Posted in News

Leave a Comment

Wed Feb 26, 2020
at 12:01 pm
No Comments