Author Archive

Palm Beach Symphony closes season with a feast of Beethoven

The Palm Beach Symphony ended its 50th season Thursday night with […]

Read More

Fri Apr 26, 2024
at 1:52 pm
No Comments

With Meade as a starry sub, Palm Beach Opera soars in season finale of “Norma”

Thanks to a last-minute casting change, one of the 21st century’s […]

Read More

Sat Apr 06, 2024
at 11:48 am
No Comments

Vienna Philharmonic makes its lineage manifest with extraordinary Mahler

A West Palm Beach audience on Friday night experienced the towering […]

Read More

Sat Mar 09, 2024
at 11:08 am
No Comments

Kernis’s energetic premiere takes flight with Palm Beach Symphony

World premieres may be unusual events for many orchestras. But for […]

Read More

Thu Mar 07, 2024
at 8:56 am
No Comments

Pianist Trifonov lives up to reputation in stylish, individual Mozart with Rotterdam Philharmonic

The Russian-born pianist Daniil Trifonov has joined the handful of classical […]

Read More

Tue Mar 05, 2024
at 11:39 am
1 Comment

Palm Beach Opera’s superb cast delivers an aptly harrowing “Hoffmann”

A story of three love affairs that end in catastrophe came […]

Read More

Sat Mar 02, 2024
at 11:55 am
No Comments

Detroit Symphony makes a magnificent showing at the Kravis Center

Of all the works produced in the 19th century flowering of […]

Read More

Sun Feb 18, 2024
at 10:44 am
1 Comment

Colorful Zwilich premiere highlights Palm Beach Symphony’s romantic program

The distinguished American composer Ellen Taaffe Zwilich has never been called […]

Read More

Tue Feb 06, 2024
at 1:19 pm
No Comments

Palm Beach Opera opens season with an emotional and riveting “Tosca”

For sheer operatic intensity, it’s tough to beat Puccini’s Tosca. Taking […]

Read More

Sat Jan 27, 2024
at 12:21 pm
No Comments

Oddball Orpheus program brings mixed rewards at Kravis Center

Ask orchestral musicians which concertos have the dullest accompaniments and Chopin’s […]

Read More

Mon Jan 22, 2024
at 9:45 am
No Comments

Zukerman brings his suave, polished musicianship to Palm Beach Symphony

A big attraction of Palm Beach Symphony concerts is the parade […]

Read More

Tue Jan 16, 2024
at 11:05 am
No Comments

Pianist Tao lights up a new year with Jacksonville Symphony at Kravis

Here’s another entry in the ledger for anyone who wants to […]

Read More

Wed Jan 10, 2024
at 10:46 am
2 Comments

A world premiere and Bronfman’s majestic Brahms open Palm Beach Symphony season in style

The Palm Beach Symphony opened its 50th season in style Sunday […]

Read More

Mon Nov 20, 2023
at 2:20 pm
1 Comment

Mexican orchestra serves up a colorful feast of Latin music at Kravis

The Orquesta Sinfónica de Minería, a fine ensemble based in Mexico […]

Read More

Tue Oct 31, 2023
at 11:59 am
No Comments

Master Chorale meditates on last things with Fauré Requiem, contemporary works

A focus on death may not be the sunniest approach to […]

Read More

Sat Oct 28, 2023
at 1:53 pm
1 Comment

Palm Beach Symphony features two soloists, provides timely Franck excavation in season finale

For much of the 20th century, César Franck’s Symphony in D […]

Read More

Tue May 16, 2023
at 11:39 am
No Comments

Joshua Bell provides new twist on Mendelssohn with PB Symphony

Joshua Bell found a way to inject novelty into the 179-year-old […]

Read More

Mon Apr 17, 2023
at 2:19 pm
1 Comment

Palm Beach Opera closes season in style with Verdi’s comedic “Falstaff”

Friday night marked Palm Beach Opera’s belated local premiere of Verdi’s […]

Read More

Sat Mar 25, 2023
at 9:52 am
No Comments

Hope, Zurich Chamber Orchestra deliver enjoyable program of American music

  When European ensembles tour the United States, they typically focus […]

Read More

Mon Mar 20, 2023
at 10:08 am
No Comments

A kaleidoscopic premiere and eruptive Stravinsky with Palm Beach Symphony

A world premiere, a renowned pianist and the most accessible thing […]

Read More

Wed Mar 15, 2023
at 11:37 am
No Comments