Author Archive

Schwarz leads the Frost Symphony in a fiery and relentless “Rite of Spring”

Since Gerard Schwarz joined the faculty of the University of Miami’s […]

Read More

Sun Dec 04, 2022
at 11:55 am
No Comments

Sorrell lights up Baroque favorites with New World Symphony

The historical and period instrument movement have been invaluable in researching […]

Read More

Mon Nov 21, 2022
at 1:42 pm
No Comments

Miami Lyric Opera adapts, marks 20th anniversary in high style

For two decades, Miami Lyric Opera has presented gifted young singers […]

Read More

Sun Nov 20, 2022
at 3:32 pm
2 Comments

Miami Lyric Opera celebrates 20 years of a retired tenor’s successful dream

On Saturday night Miami Lyric Opera will celebrate its 20th anniversary […]

Read More

Wed Nov 16, 2022
at 1:51 pm
No Comments

FGO’s Miami-centric “Secret Marriage” does few favors for Cimarosa opera

Revising an opera from past centuries to reflect an updated milieu […]

Read More

Mon Nov 14, 2022
at 1:25 pm
3 Comments

Pianist Weiss, Cleveland Orchestra members in the spotlight at NWS chamber concert

A lively romp through a Mozart masterpiece and two fine French […]

Read More

Mon Nov 07, 2022
at 2:01 pm
No Comments

MTT leads Cleveland Orchestra in old-school Mahler 1

Read More

Sat Nov 05, 2022
at 1:28 pm
2 Comments

Seraphic Fire opens 20th anniversary season with music of love and war

One can always count on Patrick Quigley to conceive unique programs […]

Read More

Fri Nov 04, 2022
at 3:04 pm
No Comments

Kholodenko opens Friends of Chamber Music season with bravura, refined artistry

Some pianists dazzle audiences with displays of sheer technique. Others offer […]

Read More

Thu Nov 03, 2022
at 12:04 pm
No Comments

Schwarz, Frost Symphony deliver seismic Mahler, in a concert dedicated to Thomas Sleeper

The memory of Thomas Sleeper was the thematic thread woven through […]

Read More

Sun Oct 30, 2022
at 2:14 pm
1 Comment

Miami Symphony Orchestra proves rough and not always ready in over-ambitious season opener

The Miami Symphony Orchestra was recently proclaimed the official symphony orchestra […]

Read More

Mon Oct 24, 2022
at 1:59 pm
2 Comments

Bronfman triumphs as Tilson Thomas returns to New World for Rachmaninoff

For decades, Yefim Bronfman has been one of the most reliable […]

Read More

Sun Oct 23, 2022
at 1:33 pm
1 Comment

Pianist Del Pino conjures multihued Spanish evocations at MDCA

Iberia by Isaac Albéniz is one of the most difficult works […]

Read More

Sat Oct 22, 2022
at 10:10 am
No Comments

Soprano lifts an uneven season opener for New World Symphony

Rain dampened the crowd in number and spirit on the lawn […]

Read More

Sun Oct 16, 2022
at 12:28 pm
No Comments

Violinist Frautschi soars, lifting New World’s mixed chamber opener

A lark rose and produced silvery chains of sound.  The ravishing […]

Read More

Mon Oct 10, 2022
at 12:39 pm
No Comments

Critic Picks for 2022-23

Music of Rachmaninoff. New World Symphony/Michael Tilson Thomas and Yefim Bronfman. […]

Read More

Wed Sep 14, 2022
at 2:35 pm
No Comments

Britten’s “Midsummer Night’s Dream” a highlight of Miami Beach Classical Music Festival

When one considers the operas of Benjamin Britten, the tortured anti-heroes […]

Read More

Sun Jul 31, 2022
at 12:39 pm
No Comments

Mozart’s “Magic Flute” delights young and old in artful MBMCF staging

The combination of comedy, fantasy and moral uplift makes The Magic […]

Read More

Mon Jul 11, 2022
at 11:38 am
No Comments

Young conductors hone their craft at Miami Beach Classical Music Festival

Seven young conductors took turns on the podium at the Miami […]

Read More

Fri Jul 08, 2022
at 11:50 am
No Comments

Ohlsson closes Frost Chopin Festival with brilliance, undimmed artistry

The Frost Chopin Festival, in no small manner, left the best […]

Read More

Mon Jun 27, 2022
at 10:41 am
No Comments