Author Archive

Tetzloff traces the influence of Beethoven with thoughtful virtuosity

Ludwig van Beethoven changed the course of music history. The titan […]

Read More

Fri Sep 24, 2021
at 2:52 pm
1 Comment

Pianist Gagliano serves up power and individuality en route to Warsaw

When Avery Gagliano won first prize at Miami’s American Chopin Competition […]

Read More

Sun Sep 12, 2021
at 1:32 pm
1 Comment

Miami Beach Music Festival serves up a sparkling “Cendrillon”

[UPDATED] For opera lovers who associate Jules Massenet with the heated […]

Read More

Sat Jul 17, 2021
at 1:29 pm
No Comments

Young singers serve up a delightful “Albert Herring” at MB Music Festival

[UPDATED] Benjamin Britten’s Albert Herring is a unique creation in the […]

Read More

Fri Jul 16, 2021
at 11:12 am
No Comments

Young conductors, orchestra show impressive abilities at Miami Beach Music Festival

The rechristened Miami Beach Classical Music Festival is offering a truncated […]

Read More

Mon Jul 12, 2021
at 12:24 pm
No Comments

Kenner wraps Frost Chopin Festival with old and new rarities

Commenting on Chopin’s music in 1831, Robert Schumann famously wrote “Hats […]

Read More

Sun Jul 11, 2021
at 1:09 pm
No Comments

Chochieva goes her own subtle way at Frost Chopin Festival

Chopin was represented by only one work on Zlata Chochieva’s streamed […]

Read More

Sat Jul 10, 2021
at 2:29 pm
No Comments

Shevchenko brings out the dance at Frost Chopin Festival

Fredric Chopin and Enrique Granados each write music that is infused […]

Read More

Fri Jul 09, 2021
at 12:30 pm
No Comments

Frost Chopin Festival opens with rewarding Beethoven

The music of Fredric Chopin is repertoire heaven for pianists and […]

Read More

Thu Jul 08, 2021
at 12:23 pm
No Comments

Former students and Frost colleagues pay tribute to the legacy of Dennis Kam

Dennis Kam was a member of the faculty of the University […]

Read More

Sun Jun 27, 2021
at 1:09 pm
1 Comment

Mozart, Monteverdi wrap Seraphic Fire’s pandemic season on hopeful note

The music of Monteverdi and Mozart, two of the greatest vocal […]

Read More

Mon May 24, 2021
at 11:37 am
No Comments

New World musicians in the spotlight in short program

Although the return of Robert Spano was publicized as the main […]

Read More

Sun May 23, 2021
at 11:56 am
No Comments

MTT, New World provide a season highlight with American program

The musicians of the New World Symphony have played under some […]

Read More

Sun May 09, 2021
at 2:43 pm
No Comments

New World Symphony to return live but continue streaming in 2021-22

The New World Symphony’s 2021-2022 season heralds a return to live […]

Read More

Fri May 07, 2021
at 8:00 pm
No Comments

Frost New Music Festival opens with a rewarding lineup of compelling music

A brief but exceptionally well-chosen program of works by leading contemporary […]

Read More

Thu May 06, 2021
at 1:01 pm
No Comments

Singleton premiere highlights New World’s wide-ranging chamber program

Following two programs that featured an uneven score by Matthias Pincher, […]

Read More

Mon Apr 26, 2021
at 12:01 pm
No Comments

Schwarz wraps Frost Symphony season with eclectic mix

Throughout this pandemic-plagued season, the intrepid Gerard Schwarz has continued to […]

Read More

Mon Apr 19, 2021
at 12:56 pm
No Comments

Exuberant D’addona premiere stands out in lightweight NWS concert

The New World Symphony’s program “This is America” on Saturday night […]

Read More

Sun Apr 18, 2021
at 1:43 pm
No Comments

Strong artists, uneven music make for mixed New World program

Matthias Pintscher is one of Europe’s most prominent contemporary composers. Currently […]

Read More

Sun Apr 04, 2021
at 12:45 pm
No Comments

FGO wraps season with night of sultry Latin songs

Following a stimulating season of intimate operas by Jake Heggie, Daron […]

Read More

Sat Mar 27, 2021
at 12:23 pm
No Comments