Author Archive

Schwarz wraps Frost Symphony season with eclectic mix

Throughout this pandemic-plagued season, the intrepid Gerard Schwarz has continued to […]

Read More

Mon Apr 19, 2021
at 12:56 pm
No Comments

Exuberant D’addona premiere stands out in lightweight NWS concert

The New World Symphony’s program “This is America” on Saturday night […]

Read More

Sun Apr 18, 2021
at 1:43 pm
No Comments

Strong artists, uneven music make for mixed New World program

Matthias Pintscher is one of Europe’s most prominent contemporary composers. Currently […]

Read More

Sun Apr 04, 2021
at 12:45 pm
No Comments

FGO wraps season with night of sultry Latin songs

Following a stimulating season of intimate operas by Jake Heggie, Daron […]

Read More

Sat Mar 27, 2021
at 12:23 pm
No Comments

Schwarz, Frost orchestras shine in American music, old and new

Gerard Schwarz has long championed the work of American composers. Now […]

Read More

Tue Mar 23, 2021
at 3:53 pm
No Comments

Tragedy and joy manifest in moving Seraphic Fire program

Seraphic Fire continues to present compelling virtual concert programs that mix […]

Read More

Mon Mar 22, 2021
at 12:19 pm
No Comments

Florida Grand Opera closes down-sized season with comic double-bill

Florida Grand Opera’s reconfigured season of small-scale American operas has been […]

Read More

Sun Mar 21, 2021
at 11:35 am
No Comments

Seraphic Fire plans a bountiful post-pandemic season

A valedictory masterpiece by Pergolesi, an encore performance of a major […]

Read More

Fri Mar 12, 2021
at 12:01 am
No Comments

New World Symphony takes a trip to the City of Light with “Stravinsky in Paris”

In 2019 the New World Symphony celebrated Igor Stravinsky with two […]

Read More

Sun Mar 07, 2021
at 1:28 pm
No Comments

Artistry of Frost Opera Theater singers comes across in “Masquerade 2021”

Finding ways to perform opera and vocal music in the current […]

Read More

Sat Mar 06, 2021
at 1:22 pm
No Comments

FGO’s concert by Angela Brown and friends opens opera to new audiences

Outreach and educational initiatives in the classical music world can be […]

Read More

Mon Mar 01, 2021
at 12:33 pm
1 Comment

Mozart’s music, fine cast win out over distractions in PBO’s “Magic Flute”

As Palm Beach Opera general director David Walker was making his […]

Read More

Mon Feb 22, 2021
at 12:32 pm
No Comments

Palm Beach Opera keeps it grand with a first-class, al fresco “Bohème”

As most American opera companies remain shuttered due to the Covid-19 […]

Read More

Sat Feb 20, 2021
at 1:04 pm
No Comments

Seraphic Fire offers a program of love songs for Valentine’s Day

Seraphic Fire celebrated Valentine’s Day with “Serenade,” a webcast compilation of […]

Read More

Mon Feb 15, 2021
at 12:11 pm
No Comments

FGO’s vivid New York trilogy engages the mind and touches the heart

One rarely thinks of opera librettos as realistic, unlike theatrical or […]

Read More

Sun Feb 14, 2021
at 11:43 am
No Comments

Music of Reich and Barber blend varied harmonies in Seraphic Fire program

The music of two of America’s most significant composers formed the […]

Read More

Sun Feb 07, 2021
at 12:19 pm
No Comments

Heggie’s slight “Three Decembers” receives exemplary staging in FGO’s retooled American season

While most American opera companies have cancelled their seasons in the […]

Read More

Sun Jan 31, 2021
at 10:55 am
No Comments

New World’s streaming compilation traverses eras, genres

The New World Symphony’s video stream, presented Saturday night, combined performances […]

Read More

Sun Jan 24, 2021
at 11:46 am
No Comments

New World stream revisits American music

The New World Symphony is devoting its January webcasts to composite […]

Read More

Sun Jan 10, 2021
at 1:53 pm
No Comments

Early Beethoven well-served by Orchestra Miami

The week of the 250th anniversary of Ludwig van Beethoven’s birth […]

Read More

Sun Dec 20, 2020
at 12:46 pm
No Comments